Select Your Style

Choose your layout


Biblical Vision

“…Paul and Barnabas and some of the others were appointed to go up to Jerusalem to discuss this question with the apostles and the elders” –  Acts 15:2, NRSV

Description of Work

Standing Committee delegates represent the Shenandoah District to the Standing Committee of Annual Conference of the Church of the Brethren. They fulfill their tasks in relation to the written descriptions of the Church of the Brethren standards for Standing Committee delegates.

Nathan Rittenhouse

Nate Rittenhouse(Greenbank, W. Va.) Nathan is a member of the preaching team at the New Hope congregation in W. Va. After graduating from Bridgewater College, he attended OCCA – The Oxford Centre for Christian Apologetics and holds an M.Div. from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. He has served the District by spending three summers at Brethren Woods and by being a member of the committee that worked to present the District’s church property policy. He enjoys a wide variety of outdoor activities with his wife, Erin, and their four busy children.




Jan Orndorff(Woodstock, Va.) Jan is the pastor of the Sunrise Church of the Brethren in
Harrisonburg. She has served the District as moderator, Discipleship
Ministries Team Chair, Ministerial Leadership Team Chair, Springs of Living
Water Chair, and Witness Commission Chair under the old organization. In
addition, she has been an Annual Conference table facilitator and has had
several pieces published in “Messenger.” Jan’s deepest desire is to serve God by
helping others to know Jesus Christ and grow in discipleship.